Senator Megan Hunt, Nebraska State Legislature - 2020 Inspiring Efficiency Leadership Award Winner

Senator Megan Hunt accepts Leadership Award

During the 2020 Inspiring Efficiency Awards Dinner & Gala, the Inspiring Efficiency Leadership Award was presented to Senator Megan Hunt of the Nebraska State Legislature. The Inspiring Efficiency Leadership Award honors an organization or individual who has served as a strong leader in support of energy efficiency in their city, state, region, company or community.

Senator Megan Hunt is an entrepreneur, activist and parent elected in 2018 to represent District 8 in the Nebraska Legislature. As a first term senator, she championed a vital update to the Nebraska state energy code. Through Senator Hunt’s efforts, this bill was skillfully shepherded through the legislative process, with no harmful amendments, gaining support and momentum. She was able to work with stakeholders of all political affiliations to have this bill pass three separate votes, per state requirement. LB 405 was signed by the governor May 8, 2019 and the 2018 IECC was adopted as the Nebraska state energy code. Senator Hunt’s efforts brought Nebraska’s state energy code to the 2018 IECC from the 2009 IECC.

Senator Hunt, who has lived and worked in the Dundee area of Omaha for more than 13 years, is motivated by her goal of helping others translate their experiences into positive action and change in the real world. She accepted the award during the 16th Annual IEA Dinner in February. We congratulate Senator Hunt and applaud her wonderful leadership in Nebraska.

Read more about Senator Megan Hunt here.