Midwest Energy Efficiency Alliance Appoints New Board Members

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Tim Frisbie, 312-251-9913
June 13, 2012 tfrisbie@ksapr.com


Midwest Energy Efficiency Alliance Appoints New Board Members

CHICAGO – Eleven leaders in energy efficiency representing energy utilities, governmental bodies, energy efficiency-related businesses and academic and research organizations have been appointed to the 2012-2013 Board of Directors for the Midwest Energy Efficiency Alliance (MEEA).

“Each board member brings valuable skills and experience that will help MEEA in its work to advance energy-efficient policies and programs,” said Jay Wrobel, MEEA executive director. “Their guidance will be invaluable as MEEA continues to grow and provide expanded services across our 13-state region. In total, nearly $1.2 billion in rate-payer dollars was spent on energy efficiency in 2011, and that number will increase to $1.5 billion by 2015. MEEA engages our Board to provide guidance as we promote best practices and new technologies in the Midwest.”

MEEA’s new 2012-2013 board officers are:

Chair – Emmett Romine, Manager, Energy Optimization, DTE Energy (Detroit, Mich.)

In his role at Detroit Edison (DTE) Energy, Emmett Romine manages the development and roll-out of energy efficiency programs for MichCon and DTE. He previously served as manager of group performance in Detroit Edison’s Distribution Operations organization, and held other leadership roles at DTE on the Enterprise Performance Management and the DTE2 teams.  Before joining DTE Energy, Romine held leadership positions at Enigma and KPMG Consulting, and worked as a manufacturing engineer at Nordyne, Inc.

Vice Chair – Charles Budd, Principal, DNV KEMA Energy and Sustainability (Wheaton, Ill.)

Charles Budd has successfully managed more than $100 million of Demand Side Management (DSM) programs at two major utilities. His consulting experience includes start-up and management of business programs that have achieved more than 750 GWH of energy savings. His career includes providing expert testimony on matters involving DSM cost recovery and determination of utility performance incentives, as well as demand-side planning, utility cost of service, rate design and fuel clauses.

Secretary – John Cuttica, Director of the Energy Resources Center, University of Illinois at Chicago (Chicago, Ill.)

John Cuttica has been in the energy field for more than 30 years, with most of his career spent in the energy Research and Development (R&D) area, having held the position of VP of End Use Research at the Gas Research Institute for more than 10 years. Cuttica and the Energy Resources Center staff work closely with the Illinois State Energy Office in the development and implementation of the State’s Energy Efficiency Portfolio Standard as it applies to the public sector. Prior to his work at the Gas Research Institute, Cuttica was responsible for the Consumer Product R&D Program at the U.S. Department of Energy. 

Treasurer – Sam Sirkin, Program Development Manager, JACO Environmental (Portland, Ore.)

As JACO Environmental’s Program Development Manager, Sam Sirkin has assisted program sponsors nationwide in the design and launch of appliance recycling programs. He has more than 30 years of experience in environmental protection, energy efficiency and economic development. His energy efficiency experience spans the residential, commercial and industrial sectors. Sirkin also serves on the board for the Association of Energy Service Providers (AESP).

MEEA’s newly elected board directors are:

Leah Guzowski, Energy and Environmental Policy Scientist, Argonne National Laboratory (Lemont, Ill.)

As Energy and Environmental Policy Scientist at Argonne National Lab, Leah’s current research interests include large-scale financing mechanisms, policy-related tools and applying a systems perspective to building energy efficiency. She also serves as Argonne’s U.S. Department of Energy-Building Technology Program commercial team lead. Guzowski’s previous work includes strategic consulting and business development for clean technology companies and macro-level economic analysis research for international governments.

Tim Melloch, Director of Energy Efficiency Services, Commonwealth Edison (Chicago, Ill.)

Tim Melloch joined ComEd in 1982 as a technical staff engineer at Byron Nuclear Generating Station. In 1988, he moved on to serve as a large customer account manager. Since 1990, Melloch has used his experience as an engineer and customer service manager to help ComEd customers become wiser energy consumers. In his current position, Melloch is responsible for overseeing implementation and engineering support for ComEd’s 2011 – 2014 Energy Efficiency Plan.

Rick Morgan, President, Morgan Marketing Partners (Madison, Wis.)

Rick Morgan has more than 35 years of experience in the energy efficiency field and has been an active member of the Association of Energy Services Professionals (AESP) since the 1980s. As president of Morgan Marketing Partners, established in 1995, he helps utilities, regional efficiency programs and energy companies throughout the U.S. with their energy programs and marketing challenges. He assists his clients with strategic marketing, creation of new products and services, efficiency program/service planning and marketing planning to achieve their goals.

Chad Smith, Deputy Chief of the Office of Energy, Ohio Department of Development (Columbus, Ohio)

In his role with the Office of Energy in the Ohio Department of Development, Chad Smith provides direction and guidance to technical and administrative staff, implements agency goals and objectives, develops policy and programs, and leads efforts to administer more than $15 million in annual state funding and $150 million in federal stimulus energy programs. Smith also serves as the director of the Ohio Coal Development Office and is the director of Development’s designee on the Ohio Power Siting Board and Ohio Turnpike Commission.

Llona Weiss, Director, Division of Energy, Missouri Department of Natural Resources (Jefferson City, Mo.)

Llona Weiss was appointed director of the Missouri Department of Natural Resources (DNR) Energy Division – Missouri’s State Energy Office – in June 2011. Prior to becoming division director, Weiss served as assistant to the CEO of Missouri Employers Mutual in Columbia, Missouri and as a district director for U.S. Senator Claire McCaskill. 

MEEA’s re-elected board members are:

Tim Duff, General Manager of Retail Customer and Regulatory Strategy, Duke Energy (Charlotte, N.C.)

Tim Duff is responsible for the development of strategies and policies at Duke Energy related to energy efficiency, smart grid and all other retail services. Previously, Duff worked for four years as managing director, Federal Regulatory Policy, where he was primarily responsible for developing and advocating Duke Energy’s policy positions with the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission. He assumed his current position in January 2010.

Randy Gunn, Managing Director, Navigant Consulting (Chicago, Ill.)

Randy Gunn has more than 25 years of experience in the development, implementation and evaluation of utility energy service programs. He has extensive experience with DSM portfolio evaluation studies, market potential studies, market assessments, baseline studies and regulatory projects, and often leads Navigant projects in these areas. He currently is leading portfolio evaluation studies for ComEd, American Electric Power Ohio, Nicor, People’s Gas, and Public Service Company of Oklahoma.

# # #

About Midwest Energy Efficiency Alliance – The Source on Energy Efficiency

The Midwest Energy Efficiency Alliance (www.mwalliance.org) is a collaborative network advancing energy efficiency in the Midwest to support sustainable economic development and environmental preservation. MEEA bridges the gap between policy adoption and program implementation.